Minutes of Section Annual Meeting, June 8, 2016, recorded by Judith Wiener Educational and School Psychology Section

Section Chair, Juanita Mureika, called the meeting to order at 5:45 PM

In attendance were 30 people including 11 members, 7 student affiliates, and 11 guests.

Approval of Agenda as drafted

Moved by William McKee and seconded by Adam McCrimmon	CARRIED
Approval of Minutes of the 2015 Section Annual Meeting as drafted Moved by Laurie Ford and seconded by: Tim Hogan	CARRIED
Approval of attached Chair's Report Moved by: Judy Wiener, seconded by: Joe Snyder	CARRIED

Approval of Treasurer's Report

Moved by Janine Montgomery and seconded by Gabrielle Wilcox

As indicated by William McKee, it is important to note that there is a bank balance of \$23,685. However, Allyson Harrison (treasurer) stared in her report that by December 2017 sections must have a bank balance of no more than \$5000. Juanita Mureika and Judy Wiener both suggested that proposals should be solicited that provide specific indications about how to spend the money in the best interests of Educational and School Psychology in Canada.

In addition, William McKee cautioned that the budget does not include future expenditures for the newsletter, postage, convention speakers, travel, student conference awards, and accommodation for convention speakers, translations, and other expenses. Thus, the bank balance of \$23,685 may be an overestimate.

There were several suggestions about ways that this bank balance might be spent that would be profitable for several groups:

- 1) Simon Lisaingo asked if student would be able to apply for grants for research or other possible purposes
- 2) Tim Hogan suggested that a donation might be made to the CPA foundation
- 3) Judy Wiener suggested that a website might be developed similar to the NASP Members exchange

It was decided that the Executive Committee would explore possibilities with input from the full membership on ways to spend the funds.

Received Reports

CARRIED

CARRIED

Moved by: Bill McKee Seconded by Joseph Snyder

Newsletter Report

Troy Jantzen resigned as newsletter editor. Janine Montgomery graciously volunteered to become newsletter editor.

Bylaws/Terms of Reference Committee

Judy Wiener chaired a committee with Laurie Ford, Juanita Mureika, Joseph Snyder and Donald Saklofske to amend the previous 2002 bylaws. As required by CPA, these bylaws are now terms of reference. These terms of reference were approved by electronic vote of the Educational and School Psychology members on March 29, 2016 and the CPA Board of Directors on April 18, 2016. (see attached)

Student Awards Committee – Laurie Ford

Acknowledgement of Troy Janzen and committee co-chair and thanks to review committee. Laurie and Troy also submitted a written report on the activities of the committee The following students won the awards for poster contributions to the 2016 CPA conference: 3 third place winners – Michele Cheng (UBC), Lauren Goegan (U of A), Sonja Saqui (UBC) 2nd place – Chantal Labonte (U of A) 1st place – Simon Lisaingo (UBC)

Teacher Help (see attached)

Professional Relations/Liaisons

- There was some discussion about CASP and its relation to CPA
- Joseph Snyder reported on relations with other sections in CPA
- Canadian National Committee/International Union of Psychological Science Joseph Snyder reported that he is a member at large on this committee.
- Adam McRimmon and Debra Lean submitted a written report on their involvement in a Public Issues Subcommittee (see attached)
- Debra Lean's submitted a written report on her attendance at the North American Leaders Forum for the International School Health Network (see attached)

Election of Officers

Joseph Snyder, Chair of the nominations committee, reported that Laurie Ford has been elected by the membership to the position of Chair Elect. This election was held by electronic ballot.

New Business

Tim Hogan reported that the Bea Wickett Award, given by the CPA Foundation and Psychology Foundation of Canada was given to the Fort McMurray School District for their whole school bullying prevention programs

Juanita Mureika announced that her term as Chair of the Section of Educational and School Psychology was over and that Judith Wiener will take over as Chair of the Section. Judy thanked Juanita for her hard work as Chair and Joseph Snyder for his longstanding contributions as Chair, Past Chair, and Convention Program Coordinator. She said that she would be inviting proposals for new initiatives that would enhance the positive impact of educational and school psychology in Canada.